About Us

Who We Are

The Schroon Lake Association is a 501(c)3 not for profit volunteer organization - dedicated to preserving, promoting, and protecting the welfare of Schroon Lake, the Schroon River, and the watershed area.

What We Do

In our continuing effort to help raise awareness regarding the vital issues surrounding the ecology and lifestyle of our lake and its surrounding area, SLA has created this website to help keep you informed. 

Our History

Since 1911 the SLA has been devoted to protecting and preserving our beautiful watershed. In testing our lakes and rivers and eradicating invasive species, we have helped keep the purity of our waters that define the Town of Schroon and neighboring communities. We work with other organizations and state and local government to stop threats from outside our area and protect our precious watershed.


Board of Directors


  • President - Scott Ireland
  • Vice President - Glen Repko
  • Vice President - Roger Friedman
  • Treasurer - J. Peter Seagle
  • Recording Secretary - Neil Chippendale
  • Corresponding Secretary - John Fear


  • Susan Palisano
  • Peter White
  • Ralph Ocker
  • Charles Harste
  • Martin Korn
  • Larry Conley
  • Ger Cox
  • Don Davis
  • Doug Bleier
  • Kevin Kavanaugh
  • Kate O'Hair

Officers are elected annually and Directors are elected for a three year term. Elections are held at our General Membership Meeting every August. Members eligible to vote and stand for election shall be members in good standing. A member in good standing is a person whose dues for the current fiscal year have been paid by August 1st.

Who’s Who



PRES. SCOTT IRELAND 12/31/2022 (new), full time SL resident
VP ROGER FRIEDMAN 12/31/2023 incumbent, Town Board Member, lifelong SL Resident
VP GLEN REPKO 12/31/2023 incumbent, Planning Board Chair, full time SL Resident
TREASURER PETE SEAGLE 12/31/2023 42 year incumbent, long term SL resident, engineer, educator
COR SEC.  JOHN FEAR 12/31/2022 incumbent, SL business owner, full time SL resident, management consultant
REC SEC.  NEIL CHIPPENDALE 12/31/2022 incumbent, retired educator, full time SL resident


CHARLES HARSTE 12/31/2020*   retired businessperson, long term vacation resident
PETER WHITE 12/31/2026* retired court officer, long term Adirondack resident, full time SL resident
RALPH OCKER 12/31/2026* retired book-binder, restorer, rare book expert, full time SL resident
LARRY CONLEY12/31/ 2020* retired medical professional, full time SL resident
MARTIN KORN 12/31/2026* retired medical professional, long term vacation resident
GER COX: 12/31/2026 retired businessperson, full time SL resident
SUSAN PALISANO: 12/31/2022  SL Chamber of Commerce, full-time SL resident

DON DAVIS: 12/31/2024 local architectural business owner, part-time SL resident
DOUG BLEIER: 12/31/2026 Retired businessperson, full time SL resident
KEVIN KAVANAUGH: 12/31/2026 Businessperson, part time SL resident with business interests in the Adks
KATE O'HAIR: 12/31/2026 Retired businessperson, full time SL resident


Steve LaMere: long term lake manager who laid the foundation of over 26 years of data regarding our website. He recognized the threat invasives were and fought valiantly to stop them.  He was a real Lake Hero.  Sadly, he passed away in March 2020.